2019 › Stafford

Past event

Hilary McKay and Maria Parr in conversation with Nicolette Jones

How did it go?

We had a great time! Check back here for our write-up soon…

Daniel Morden Workshop

In this lively and interactive workshop, Daniel Morden works with children to help them develop their own narrative skills. The focus of the workshop will be on creating a convincing and satisfying story. After a brief introduction and discussion, Daniel will tell a traditional tale. He will then discuss the structure of the story. The children will use that structure to write their own versions.

Daniel has worked with The Children’s Bookshow for many years. His performances and workshops are some of our most popular with children and teachers alike.

Did you go to this performance or attend one of the related workshops? Send us your photos and feedback to be featured on this page

Venue:
The Stafford Gatehouse, Stafford, ST16 2LT
Date:
Tuesday, 24th September 2019
Time:
10:30 am
Duration:
Approx. 1 hour
Age range:
Years 5 and 6

Want to help more children attend events like this in the future?

Support the Children's Bookshow

Hilary McKay

Hilary McKay writes novels for children that often feature eccentric and deeply endearing characters and describe the escapades and traumas of family life in hilarious detail. She is well known for her series about the Casson family and also The Exiles. Her latest novel The Skylarks’ War (winner of The Costa Children’s Book Award 2018) brings us the wonderful character of Clarry, a young girl who shows great strength in the face of adversity and is unfailingly kind. Set against the brutal backdrop of the First World War we are drawn into the vivid world of this story, of Clarry, Peter, Rupert and Simon the Bony One, of love, family and loss.

Praise of The Skylarks' War

“This belongs among the classic of children’s literature . . . Funny, sad, warm, it is about growing up and finding what you love, intellectually and emotionally.”

The Sunday Times, Children's Book of the Week


Maria Parr

Maria Parr is from Norway. Her debut novel Waffle Hearts has won several prizes, has been translated into 15 languages and has also been made into a popular children's series for Norwegian TV. Maria lives in Norway with her family and works as a primary school teacher. When she's not teaching she loves writing books for children.

Perfect for fans of Pippi Longstocking, Waffle Hearts is a heartbreaking, heartmaking, hilariously funny tale... This really is a tremendous book, with everything I could hope for in a book to share with my children; beauty, wit, wisdom, joy, thoughtfulness and a lot of fun.

Playing by the Book


Interested in attending one of our performances?

Sign up to our newsletter to be the first to find out about our events next year: