2019 › Stafford

Past event

Hilary McKay and Maria Parr in conversation with Nicolette Jones

How did it go?

Nearly 400 children and their teachers from 5 Stafford schools came to The Gatehouse Theatre to listen to authors Hilary McKay and Maria Parr talk to Nicolette Jones about their writing process and inspiration. It was a fascinating morning. The children especially loved hearing Maria Parr talk about her home in Norway, and how it features in her brilliant book Waffle Hearts, and seeing a real gold sovereign helped bring to life Hilary's wonderful story about the First World War, The Skylark's War.

Some children met the authors after the event to get their books signed. 

Daniel Morden Workshop

Daniel visited 4 schools in the Stafford area and ran a creative writing workshop with a class of children in each. And, over 120 children got free books!

Did you go to this performance or attend one of the related workshops? Send us your photos and feedback to be featured on this page

Venue:
The Stafford Gatehouse, Stafford, ST16 2LT
Date:
Tuesday, 24th September 2019
Time:
10:30 am
Duration:
Approx. 1 hour
Age range:
Years 5 and 6

Want to help more children attend events like this in the future?

Support the Children's Bookshow

Hilary McKay

Hilary McKay writes novels for children that often feature eccentric and deeply endearing characters and describe the escapades and traumas of family life in hilarious detail. She is well known for her series about the Casson family and also The Exiles. Her latest novel The Skylarks’ War (winner of The Costa Children’s Book Award 2018) brings us the wonderful character of Clarry, a young girl who shows great strength in the face of adversity and is unfailingly kind. Set against the brutal backdrop of the First World War we are drawn into the vivid world of this story, of Clarry, Peter, Rupert and Simon the Bony One, of love, family and loss.

Praise of The Skylarks' War

“This belongs among the classic of children’s literature . . . Funny, sad, warm, it is about growing up and finding what you love, intellectually and emotionally.”

The Sunday Times, Children's Book of the Week


Maria Parr

Maria Parr is from Norway. Her debut novel Waffle Hearts has won several prizes, has been translated into 15 languages and has also been made into a popular children's series for Norwegian TV. Maria lives in Norway with her family and works as a primary school teacher. When she's not teaching she loves writing books for children.

Perfect for fans of Pippi Longstocking, Waffle Hearts is a heartbreaking, heartmaking, hilariously funny tale... This really is a tremendous book, with everything I could hope for in a book to share with my children; beauty, wit, wisdom, joy, thoughtfulness and a lot of fun.

Playing by the Book


Interested in attending one of our performances?

Sign up to our newsletter to be the first to find out about our events next year: