Maria Parr

Maria Parr is from Norway. Her debut novel Waffle Hearts won France’s Prix Sorcières in 2010, the Dutch Zilveren Griffel in 2008, and was shortlisted for Norway’s prestigious Brage Prize. It has been translated into fifteen languages and has been made into a popular children’s television series in Norway. Waffle Hearts tells the story of Lena and her friendship with Trolle, the boy who lives next door. The story explores friendship, family and grief through the series of wild, funny and moving escapades that join the two young friends.

Maria lives in Norway with her family and works as a Primary school teacher.

  • France’s Prix Sorcières
  • Dutch Zilveren Griffel
  • Brage Prize

Perfect for fans of Pippi Longstocking, Waffle Hearts is a heartbreaking, heartmaking, hilariously funny tale... This really is a tremendous book, with everything I could hope for in a book to share with my children; beauty, wit, wisdom, joy, thoughtfulness and a lot of fun.

Playing by the Book

Performing in 2019!

Book tickets for your class to go and see Maria Parr perform: